
136. The pitcher pushes from the pitcher's plate in such a manner that the non-pivot foot 
touches the ground before or after the pivot foot leaves the pitcher's plate. 
 
Ruling - LEGAL; as long as the pivot foot remains in contact with the ground, it may 
remain in contact with OR push off and drag away from the pitching plate prior to the 
non-pivot (stride) foot touching the ground (6.1.E NOTE, p 34) 
 
137. R1 is at third base. The batter hits a pitched ball toward the third base dugout. F2 
attempts to catch the foul fly but cannot reach the ball because the on-deck batter is a) 
in the on-deck circle, or b) out of the on-deck circle while trying to avoid the fly ball. 
 
Ruling - in a) and b), DEAD BALL and INTERFERENCE, if the fielder has a play on the 
ball and is impeded by the on-deck batter, whether intentional or not. The batter is 
declared OUT and R1 remains at third base. The on-deck batter may not interfere with 
the defensive player's opportunity to make an out; if it is with a fielder fielding a fly ball, 
the batter is out (7.1.D, p 38) 
 
138. The batter has a count on no balls and two strikes. The next pitched ball hits the 
ground in front of home plate and then the batter swings and fouls the ball back into the 
catcher's glove. 
 
Ruling - LIVE BALL, FOUL TIP which is strike three, and the batter is OUT. A batted 
ball which goes directly and speedily from the bat to the catcher's mitt or hand and is 
legally caught by the catcher is a foul tip, and the ball remains live (3.FOUL TIP, p 22; 
7.5.E, p 38) 
 
Comment: if the batter had swung at and completely missed the pitch, she could run 
under the uncaught ("dropped") third strike rule. 
 
139. The bases are loaded with no outs. The batter hits the next pitched ball on the 
ground toward F4. R3 is tagged out by F4 and then interferes with F4's attempt to play 
on the batter-runner at first base. R1 scores before R3 causes the interference. 
 
Ruling - DEAD BALL and INTERFERENCE is called. This is interference by a retired 
runner (R3). Since R1 is also a retired runner (she has scored), the runner closest to 
home, R2, is declared out for R3's interference. All other runners who have not scored 
or been put out must return to the last base touched at the time of the interference, and 
the batter-runner is awarded first base 
 
If a retired runner interferes and, in the umpire's judgment, another runner could be put 
out, the umpire should declare the runner closest to home out (8.16.C, p 48; 8.18.H 
NOTE 2, p 51) 
 
140. The catcher has possession of the ball in her hand when she tags a runner with 
the back of the hand. The ball does not come in contact with the runner. 
 



Ruling - LEGAL TAG, and the runner is OUT. A legal tag includes touching a runner 
(who is not touching a base) with the glove or hand when the live ball is held securely 
therein by a fielder (3.TAG OUT, p 25) 
 


