2005-2006 Girls' Basketball Examination

Check the box for answer.


A1 is handed the ball for a designated-spot throw-in. A1 takes two steps directly back to help avoid defensive pressure. Legal? True 4-42-6, 2004-2005 Test Question #12

B4 is assessed her fifth foul. If no substitute has entered the game to replace B4, the timer shall sound a warning signal (horn) after 20 seconds of the 30 seconds permitted to replace the disqualified player. True 2-12-5
As A3 is dribbling the ball in her back court, teammate A1 is standing in her three second lane in the front court waving for the ball. After three seconds have elapsed, a three-second call should be made. False 9-7-1
A4 requests and is granted a time-out late in the fourth quarter. Team A had already used all of its allotted time outs for the game. Team A shall be denied the time out and also charged with a technical foul. False Case 10.1.7
A collision occurs between teammates A1 and A2. The referee deems A2 as being temporarily unconscious for a short time. A2 may not play during the remainder of that game without a written authorization from a physician. True 2-8-5, Adaptation #2 removed this season
During a free throw by team A, A5, who is in the middle lane space, retreats backwards out of her lane space prior to the ball hitting the rim. Legal? False 9-1-6, 2004-2005 Test Question #2
During a jump ball, after the ball is tapped by jumper A1---the ball deflects off non-jumper B3 and returns in the air to jumper A1 who catches the ball. Legal? True 6-3-7
Team B has a player foul out late in the game. With several eligible substitutes on the bench, team B coach chooses to finish the game just using four players. Legal? False 10-5-3
A3 is being closely guarded by B1 while in her front court. After three seconds, B2 and B1 switch and now B2 continues to closely guard A3. Since a different player is now guarding A3, a new five second count shall begin. False Case 9-10-1 Sit B
In order to make a correction in a correctable error situation, the error must be recognized by an official during the first dead ball after the clock had properly started. True 2-10-2, Adaptation #3 removed this season
A4 dives for a loose ball and secures possession while lying on the floor. A4 then stands up and passes the ball to A3. This is a traveling violation. True Case 4.44.5 Sit B
B1 jumps into the air while taking a shot for a field goal. A4 places her hand directly on the ball and prevents B1 from being able to release the ball. B1 returns to the floor with the ball still in her possession. A held ball shall be called. True Case 4.25.2, similar to 2004-2005 test question # 29
Home varsity uniforms must be white in color and have even numbers. True 3-4-6 Note, Adaptation # 1
A restraining line is being used on all four sides of the court for throw-ins. Team A is taking the ball out of bounds under its own basket following a time out. A3 runs inside the restraining line on the side of the court at the free throw line extended. This is legal and play should continue. True 1-2-2
Team B is subbing two players into the game at the same time. Team A captain requests a defensive match-up . The official must grant this request. False 3-3-1e
A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. After gaining control and lying on her back, A1 passes to teammate A2. Legal? True Case 4.44.5 Sit B
A4 sets a screen against B4 which is in clear view. A4 may be as close as she wishes without making contact and while in a stationary position. True 4-40-3
After team B has used eight seconds in their backcourt trying to advance the ball, B3 requests and is granted a time out. Following the time out, team B will have a new ten seconds to advance the ball into the front court after the throw-in. True Case 9.8 Sit C
A pass being made by A2 accidentally hits B5 on the leg and deflects to B3. A violation shall be called against team B for kicking the ball. False 9-4
Team A players are wearing headbands which are the same single, solid color but some have a Nike swoosh logo on them. Legal? True 3-5-2 Exc 2, Adaptation #3
As team A is advancing the ball from its backcourt, A1 passes to A2. A2 catches the ball while both feet are on the floor---one foot in the front court and one foot in the backcourt. A2 then lifts her foot from the frontcourt and pivots now putting both feet in the back court. This is legal and play should continue. True 4-35-2
It is legal to wear a rubber bracelet on the wrist as long as it has tape covering it. False 3-5, Similar to 2004-2005 Test Question # 18
During a free throw by team B, the lane space nearest the end line must be left vacant on both sides. Team A must have a player in the first legal lane space nearest to the basket on each side. True Adaptation #4
The possession arrow shall be changed immediately upon handing the ball to the player for the throw-in following a held ball. False 6-4-4, Adaptation #8 deleted this season
A4 has possession of the ball in her frontcourt but is trapped by B1 and B2 near the center division line. A4 passes the ball to A5 who is also near the center division line. The ball strikes the floor in A’s backcourt before a 5 catches it. Even though A5 is in the front court when she catches the pass, a violation shall be called against team A. True 9-9-1, 4-4-1, 2004-2005 Test Question #6
A2 is closely guarded for five seconds by B4 while dribbling in the backcourt. A violation shall be called. False 4-10
While team A is in possession of the ball, A2 , while running around a screen set for her, runs out of bounds. A technical foul will be called against A2 for leaving the court for an unauthorized reason. False 9-3-2, rule change this year
B1 has a metal splint on a broken finger which is completely covered with foam padding and tape. Legal? False 3-5-1
Team A received the ball to begin the fourth quarter via the alternate possession rule. There are no alternate possession situations during the entire fourth quarter. The score is tied at the end of regulation play. Team B shall get the ball to begin the first overtime period. False 6-2-1, Adaptation #7 was removed this season
A4 gains possession of a rebound and proceeds to excessively swing her elbows but does not make any contact with any opposing player. A technical foul shall be charged to A4. False 9-13 Penalty
A5 intentionally causes her uniform jersey to not be tucked in properly. The official shall require A5 to leave the game in order to correct the uniform situation. True 3-4-15
Each team must submit the names and numbers of each team member and designate the five starting players at least ten minutes prior to the scheduled game time. True 3-2-1
A1 is charged with an intentional foul against B1 during a successful 3 point try. B1 will be awarded the three points for the goal plus two free throws and the ball out of bounds at the spot nearest to where the foul occurred. True 8-5-3, Rule 10 Penalty Summary #4
After team A scores several consecutive points, team B calls for and is granted a time out. The bench players of team A charge onto the court to celebrate and congratulate their teammates. This is considered unsporting conduct. True POE 1B
Before the ball touches the rim or backboard on a free throw attempt by A1, B2 has her foot positioned so it is breaking the vertical plane of the lane space located immediately next to hers. If the free throw is missed, a lane violation shall be called and an alternate free throw awarded. True 9-1-6, 9-1 Penalty 2b
B4 is using pink pre-wrap in her hair as a hair device while teammate B2 is using tan pre-wrap in her hair as a hair device. Legal? True, Adaptation #3
While team A is in possession of the ball, a double foul is called against A1 and B1 in the post area. The foul shall be assessed to each player and to their team totals and the ball is then awarded to team A out of bounds at a spot nearest where the ball was when the double foul occurred. True 4-36, new this year
While B3 is dribbling the ball, a foul is called against B2 for setting an illegal screen. Team A will be awarded the ball out of bounds at the spot nearest to the spot of the foul. True7-5-5, 4-19-7, new this year
During a free throw by team A, the team B players along the free throw lane have their arms raised above their heads and are waving them during the free throw attempt. Legal? False 9-1-5
A member of the team B bench personnel receives a technical foul for unsporting behavior. The coaching staff of team B will now be restricted to being seated during play for the remainder of the game. True Adaptation #5
A pass from A3 is wild and hits an official who is standing out of bounds but the ball proceeds to remain on the court. Team B shall be awarded the ball out of bounds at the spot the ball touched the official. True 7-1-2
It is discovered that all of team B’s numbers are different from those entered in the scorebook just prior to throwing the opening jump ball. One technical foul is assessed to team B and the correct numbers recorded in the scorebook. True 3-2-2
Substitute A6 reports to the scorer just after the warning horn is sounded during a time out. The scorer shall advise A6 that she will not be allowed to enter the game until the next legal opportunity for substitution. True 3-1a
B5 has a pierced earring covered with tape or has fish line or a rubber plug inserted into the hole in her ear. Legal? False 3-5-6
The game clock shows three-tenths of a second in the third quarter. Team A has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in in their offensive end. A2 catches the in-bounds pass and quickly shoots with the ball leaving her hand prior to the horn sounding. If made, the basket will count. False 5-2-5
A2 has been awarded two free throws after time has expired in the fourth quarter. Team B leads 62-60 and A2 misses the first free throw. The second free throw will not be attempted. True 5-6-3 Exc
While team B is in possession of the ball, the official erroneously grants a time out request by team A. Upon discovering the error, team A is still entitled to use the time out since it was granted and charged to team A. True Case 5.8.3 Sit E
A1 is fouled by B1 while in the act of shooting. While the try is in flight, the horn sounds to end the fourth quarter. The ball goes in to tie the score. Prior to the free throw, team B requests and is granted a time out. The team B captain then requests another time out prior to the free throw being attempted. The official shall deny the second request. True 5-12-3
A4 shoots and the ball hits the side of a rectangular backboard. This is legal and play shall continue. True 7-1-2c
Following a made basket by team A, B1 takes the ball out of bounds to make the throw-in. Having difficulty finding anyone open, B1 passes to B2 who has stepped out of bounds behind the end line. B1 steps in-bounds and legally receives a pass from B2. Legal? True 7-5-7